Tags

, , ,

I’m a breakfast person. I love breakfast. Pancakes for dinner, amirite? I am going to share my goto breakfast that is nutritious, EASY, and comforting.

Using cauliflower for EVERYTHING that we lost can get old. Cauli-rice. Cauli-pizza. Cauli-taters. But cauliflower is actually a wonderful vegetable:

I try to eat 9 cups of vegetables per day. This tasty breakfast takes two cups of cauliflower. It’s a win all around.

porridge ingredients

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked cauliflower (frozen or fresh)

splash of non-dairy milk (I used cashew here, but generally use coconut)

1 tsp. butter or ghee (for taste)

1 tsp. coconut butter/manna (optional, for added healthy fat)

coconut flakes to taste

nuts (I used pecans), separated

dried fruit (Craisins have sugar, so a sugar free option is preferable)

cinnamon to taste

porridge blender

 

Combine all but the dried fruit and a portion of the nuts in a blender. You will likely WANT to keep some texture so be careful about how long you process it. Pour in a bowl. Add nuts and fruit. Heat if necessary. That’s all.

 

porrige

Now, we’re tired, right? So since we have all of the ingredients out, let’s combine all but the fruit and nuts in a bag and pop in the freezer for another day. Where it took about 10 minutes today, it will take five the next time.

frozen porrige

This is a great base to experiment with. I have,at different times, added apples, avocado, bananas, and honey. I have made it without an ingredient here and there. It’s forgiving. I love to fill it with nutrients just so I can get them in me. And of course, you will need protein. I usually set aside some from the night before to have with breakfast. Last night was chicken so I’ll have that in an hour or so.

Remember, nutrient density is KEY.

 

 

