Tags

, ,

More about that in a minute.

I live in AZ. I grew up in South Philadelphia, so I have a history of dreary days, rain, and snow. This is a huge factor in why we moved to a warmer climate. But since arriving in AZ in 1997, I have grown soft.

It’s crap out there today. An awesome storm last night that made my bedroom window into a big screen TV left its trash behind. Getting out of bed is MANDATORY. We cannot retreat. But today will need modifications. And chocolate. But for now, pancakes will have to do.

My love for cakes of the pan is pretty legendary. I have made as many good ones as bad ones, and as long as they aren’t completely charred (a little is okay) I WILL EAT THEM. But now I am trying to eat clean and heal myself through nutrition. Regular pancakes are verboten.

I have tried a few variations of paleo pancakes and they are feats of culinary expertise. I got tired just looking at the recipes. So when I stumbled upon this one, it looked simple enough. All of the ingredients are found in a normal grocery store. There’s only a handful of things needed. It promises pancakes. I AM THERE.

But then I meet my new nemesis. It is not illness. It is not taxes. It is a plantain. Why?

Because plantains are bastards.

Plantains are the less sweet, more difficult cousin of the beautiful, easily disrobed banana. Think of your closest female cousin. So which are you? Keep that to yourself.

Here’s the recipe:

 

2 large green plantains (about 2 cups pureed)
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 Tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
1/8 tsp salt (a generous pinch)
½ tsp baking soda
Extra coconut oil for frying

PP Ingredients - Copy

Plantains are tricky. They like to dress up like bananas but they hide buttons and zippers in their peels. I have thrown out my share of bastard plantains because the peel can take the fruit with it, leaving you having to really work at scraping out. I don’t like to work that hard when I am cooking.

So I cut off both ends with an unnecessarily huge knife. I want to intimidate the plantain. Then slice through the peel on both sides.

 

PP Cutting - Copy

And gently pull the fibrous skin from the fruit.

PP Peel

Now chunk it up and add all the ingredients to the blender. Plantains are very difficult to pulverize so I am using my Ninja.

PP Mixer

And it should look like this:

PP Mixer Done - Copy

Pour the batter in your pan.

PP Pan

This batter is quite dense. It doesn’t spread. It’s half bastard. What do you expect?

As much as I love pancakes, I always flip them awkwardly. It’s like I am always new to this.

PP Cooking

I was able to make six pancakes from this batter. Three, I bagged and put in the fridge for tomorrow.

PP Cooked

So I added some 100% maple syrup and leftover roasted veggies from last night. REMEMBER, flavor is secondary to getting those nutrients into your body.

PP final veggies

I also made myself a Chai Latte by brewing chai tea and adding honey and coconut milk.

These pancakes are pretty tough. Plantains are quite fibrous. Like sponges. They aren’t sweet and mushy like bananas (or your cousin). But we really aren’t foolish enough to expect all the experiences of unhealthy food without the cost, right?

The taste has a slight banana-ish flavor. Otherwise they are very mild. I am intent on experimenting by adding apples and cinnamon in the future.

So I feel pretty satisfied with this new version of pancakes and will add it to my favorites collection. If you aren’t already familiar with Paleomom, I encourage you to check out her websites and books. I have three of her books.

The recipe from her website: http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/09/perfect-paleo-pancakes.html

 

 

 

